The advisory council serves to advise THA on the development and implementation of key patient safety initiatives and programs offered throughout the Tennessee Center for Patient Safety. Council members recommend effective strategies to meet the Center's goals including identifying and enhancing partnership opportunities between the Center, hospitals, and professional organizations.

Tennessee Center for Patient Safety 2016 Advisory Council

Angie Beard

Vice President, Chief Nursing Officer

NorthCrest Medical Center

Carey Albright

Administrative Director

Maury Regional Medical Center

Dawn Fitzgerald

Chief Executive Officer


Derick Ziegler

Vice President, Regional Operations

Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation

Gerald Hickson, MD

Sr. VP, Quality, Patient Safety & Risk Prevention

Vanderbilt University Hospitals

Hella Ewing

Vice President, Patient Care Services and CNO

East Tennessee Children’s Hospital

Inga Himelright, MD

Senior Vice President and Chief Quality Officer

University of Tennessee Medical Center

Leah Ingram

Director, Pharmacy Services

Cookeville Regional Medical Center

Lesley Hays

Community Manager


Linda Estes

Director of Quality and Regulatory Affairs

Tennessee Health Care Association

Marion Kainer, MD

Infectious Diseases Physician

Tennessee Department of Health

Peter Grubb, MD

Medical Director

Tennessee Initiative for Perinatal Quality Care

Rhonda Kollenborn

Director, Clinical Analytics

HCA/TriStar Health System

Sharon Adkins

Executive Director

Tennessee Nurses Association

Tami Anderson

Vice President, Quality & Patient Safety

University of Tennessee Medical Center

Tatia Cummings

Vice President/Sr. Business Banker

Wells Fargo Bank

Terell Smith

Director, Patient and Family Engagement

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Terry Eads

Executive Director, Quality & Patient Safety

Wellmont Health System

Vicki Brinsko

Director, Infection Control 

Vanderbilt University Hospitals

Wanda McKnight

Executive Director

Tennessee Health Information Management Association

Wanda Perry

Service Line Administrator, Assistant Chief Nursing Officer

Tennova Healthcare-Cleveland

General Resources

Data Collection Information

THA HEN Toolkit

TCPS Schematic

AHRQ Hospital Survey on Patient Safety (HSOPS)